Agenda

Annual Council

Thursday, 26 May 2022 at 7.30 pm

New Council Chamber, Town Hall, Reigate



Members will assemble at the Town Hall, Reigate. Members of the public and Officers may attend remotely.

All attendees at the meeting have personal responsibility for adhering to any Covid control measures. Attendees are welcome to wear face masks if they wish.



Members of the public may observe the proceedings live on the Council's website.

The forty-ninth Annual Council Meeting of the Borough Council of Reigate and Banstead will be held on Thursday, 26 May 2022 at 7.30 pm.

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, prayers will be said by the Mayor's Chaplain

Mari Roberts-Wood Head of Paid Service

For enquiries regarding this agenda;

Contact: 01737 276182

Email: democratic@reigate-banstead.gov.uk

Published 18 May 2022

Reigate & Banstead
BOROUGH COUNCIL
Banstead | Horley | Redhill | Reigate

1. Election of Mayor

To elect Councillor Frank Kelly as Mayor of the Borough of Reigate and Banstead for the Municipal Year 2022/23.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor

To elect Councillor Rosemary Absalom as Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Reigate and Banstead for the Municipal Year 2022/23.

3. **Minutes** (Pages 5 - 10)

To approve the Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 7 April 2022.

4. Apologies for absence

To receive any apologies for absence.

5. Declarations of interest

To receive any declarations of interest.

6. The result of Local Elections

The Head of Paid Service shall report that at the election of Borough Councillors, held on 5 May 2022, ten serving Members were re-elected together with the following new Members:

Councillors Sam Walsh (Banstead Village); Simon Parnall (Chipstead, Kingswood and Woodmansterne); Ruth Ritter (Earlswood and Whitebushes); Mus Tary (Hooley, Merstham and Netherne); Hannah Avery (Horley Central and South); Victoria Chester (Horley East and Salfords); James Baker (Horley West and Sidlow); Rod Ashford (Lower Kingswood, Tadworth and Walton); Christopher Thompson (Meadvale and St John's); George Hinton (Nork); Stephen McKenna (Redhill East); Rich Michalowski (Redhill West and Wray Common); Victor Lewanski (Reigate); Andrew Proudfoot (South Park and Woodhatch); and Nick Harrison (Tattenham Corner and Preston).

7. Appointments to Committees

- a) To constitute and approve the nominations of Group Leaders for the membership of those Committees:
 - subject to political balance; and
 - not subject to political balance.
- b) To appoint a Member of the Surrey Police and Crime Panel Joint Committee 2022/23.

8. Urgent business

To consider any urgent business.

9. Vote of thanks to Council Employees

The Leader of the Council to move a vote of thanks to Council Employees.

10. Leader's announcements

To receive any announcements by the Leader of the Council.

11. Mayor's announcements

To receive any announcements from the Mayor.



Our meetings

As we would all appreciate, our meetings will be conducted in a spirit of mutual respect and trust, working together for the benefit of our Community and the Council, and in accordance with our Member Code of Conduct. Courtesy will be shown to all those taking part.



Streaming of meetings

Meetings are broadcast live on the internet and are available to view online for six months. A recording is retained for six years after the meeting. In attending any meeting, you are recognising that you may be filmed and consent to the live stream being broadcast online, and available for others to view.



Accessibility

The Council's agenda and minutes are provided in English. However, the Council also embraces its duty to anticipate the need to provide documents in different formats, such as audio, large print or in other languages. The Council will provide such formats where a need is identified prior to publication or on request.



Notice is given of the intention to hold any part of this meeting in private for consideration of any reports containing "exempt" information, which will be marked accordingly.